2011 NAQT Intercollegiate Championship Tournament Results

Harvard University became the first team to ever successfully defend the ICT Division I overall title by going undefeated and knocking off the University of Minnesota 385-330 in the championship game. Minnesota had also been undefeated going into the final round-robin match, which they also narrowly lost to Harvard, 420-385. This is the fourth year in a row that Harvard has taken a title of some sort at the ICT, matching Princeton's 1999-2002 effort for the longest all-time. Brown went 10-3 to claim the third-place trophy and Virginia Commonwealth and Chicago tied for 4th place at 9-4.

As the Harvard team was composed entirely of undergraduates, they also secured the Undergraduate title by making the overall final. This is the first time in ICT history that an all-undergrad team has made, or won, the overall title. Virginia Commonwealth's 4th-place overall finish earned them 2nd place Undergraduate trophy. Carleton finished 3rd, with Rice and Michigan rounding out the top five.

In Division II, Yale University dominated their competition, winning every game by at least 80 points and defeating the University of Chicago 510-315 in the championship match. This is the second ICT title for Yale, as they previously won the 2002 Division II title. Chicago had emerged from a 4-way playoff to make it to the final, with MIT taking 3rd overall and Ohio State and Virginia Commonwealth tying for 4th place.

Chipola College of Marianna, FL followed up their dominating performance at February's NAQT Community College Championship Tournament by finishing in a tie for 10th overall to claim the Top Community College Award. The 10th place finish matches the 2004 Valencia team for the second-highest finish by a community college in ICT history. Montgomery College of Rockville, MD took second place and Valencia CC of Orlando, FL finished third.

The tournament All-Stars, based on performance in the seven initial round-robin games, were:

Division I

  1. Chris Ray, Maryland
  2. Matthew Bollinger, Virginia
  3. Dwight Wynne, Cal-Irvine
  4. Henry Gorman, Rice
  5. Kurtis Droge, Michigan
  6. Gordon Arsenoff, Washington University in St. Louis
  7. Guy Tabachnick, Brown
  8. Aaron Cohen, Rensselaer Polytechnic


  1. Matthew Bollinger, Virginia
  2. Henry Gorman, Rice
  3. Kurtis Droge, Michigan
  4. Guy Tabachnick, Brown

Division II

  1. Neil Gurram, MIT
  2. Matthew Jackson, Yale
  3. Dallin Kelson, Chipola A
  4. Daniel Puma, Montgomery College
  5. Brad Fischer, Northern Illinois
  6. Charles Hang, Washington University in St. Louis
  7. Daniel Donohue, Northwestern
  8. Daichi Ueda, Chicago A

Complete team and individual statistics for both divisions are available.

The tournament, held at the Hyatt Regency O'Hare in Rosemont, Illinois, featured 64 of the top teams from across North America.