Division II

Division II is the lower of the two echelons of play recognized by NAQT at the collegiate level. Division II is intended to provide new schools and new players with an arena in which they can compete against other developing teams.

It is important to note that the classification of a team as “Division II-eligible” is a function of its players, not of the school itself; it’s common for the same school to field a Division I team of experienced players at the same tournament as it fields a Division II team of newer players.

Sectional Championship Tournaments (SCTs) and the Intercollegiate Championship Tournament (ICT) award distinct Division II championships.

In general, Division I and Division II teams compete separately.

Four-Year Colleges and Universities

Students at four-year institutions qualify to play in Division II if they meet the following requirements:

Community and Two-Year Colleges

Students at community colleges qualify to play in Division II if they meet the same requirements except that they must not have completed their third distinct academic year of competition in NAQT collegiate events.

There are some subtle aspects to community college eligibility:

Teams and Individuals

A team qualifies to play in Division II if all of its members do.

In short, the policy is that a player retains Division II eligibility until they are on a team that qualifies for the ICT or they compete at the ICT. Students at two-year institutions may play Division II for up to three years (regardless of how well their teams do).

Students that are eligible for Division II but who graduate in the middle of a competition year may continue to play Division II for the rest of the year (assuming they continue to meet the other criteria for eligibility).

Collegiate Divisions

NAQT offers three forms of collegiate quiz bowl competition — read about them all!

Division I Undergraduate Division II
Formal Eligibility Rules Eligibility FAQ