2006 Intercollegiate Championship Tournament Results

The University of California-Berkeley claimed its second NAQT ICT Division I overall title in three years by going undefeated over 14 games and topping the University of Illinois in the final by a score of 385-300. This is the third ICT title of any kind for Cal-Berkeley, joining their Division II triumph in 2003 and Division I title in 2004. It is also the sixth ICT title in the remarkable career of Jeff Hoppes, who won four titles while an undergraduate at Princeton as well as Berkeley’s earlier Division I title. The University of Chicago defeated 2005’s Undergraduate Champion Virginia Commonwealth University in a third-place playoff game 320-250 while Stanford and Virginia tied for fifth.

In the Undergraduate competition, Williams College finished in a tie for 10th overall and outlasted the University of Chicago in the final 315-205 to take home its first ICT title of any kind. Williams’ success depended on a balanced attack, as all four players averaged at least 20 points per game, but none higher than 27 ppg. 1999 champion Carleton College claimed third place after losing a playoff to Chicago by the score of 255-215 for the right to contest Williams in the final. Michigan and Harding rounded out the top five.

In Division II, Stanford, led by reigning College Jeopardy! champion Nico Martinez, won the title in a thrilling three-team race with Harvard and Caltech. All three teams finished the preliminary games tied at 11-2 and, after a series of short tiebreaker games eliminated Caltech, Stanford dominated Harvard in the final 470-110 to take the championship. This is the first ICT title of any kind that Stanford has won since its 1998 Division I overall title. Amherst finished fourth and Princeton fifth. Podcasts of 13 games from Division II are available for download.

The Community College final was a rematch from last year’s final between Faulkner State (AL) Community College, the defending champion, and Broward (FL) Community College. Like last year, Faulkner entered the finals with a one game advantage by virtue of its better finish in the preliminaries, but Broward won back-to-back nail-biters by the scores of 210-170 and 200-180 to claim its first national championship. Three-time champion Valencia (FL) Community College finished third and Bevill State-Jasper (AL) and Oxford College of Emory University (GA) shared fourth-place honors.

The tournament was held on the campus of the University of Maryland in College Park on April 7–8 and featured 64 of the top teams from across North America.